School Photographers of America announces 2024 officer elections

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

School Photographers of America (SPOA) announced the election of new officers to two-year positions on Nov. 30, in Las Vegas, NV. at SPOA Leadership Summit. These elections are held every other year.

SPOA Governing Board

Members of the Governing Board help guide the overall direction of our trade organization. The board’s seats have two-year terms, with a two-term maximum per person unless elected by their peers to become an officer.


Cindy Gallien, Photo Texas

Cindy Gallien of Photo Texas Photography is the new Chairman of the association’s Governing Board.

“My main objective for SPOA is to help all photo companies understand the present-day needs such as special insurance coverage and knowledge of AI,” says Gallien. “As an organization, we must do everything possible to keep all children across this country safe. Data and images of our students must be protected!”

Aric Snyder Jr. of Inter-state Studios & Publishing Co. advances from treasurer-elect to treasurer.

Lou Esposito of Nationwide & Legacy Studios was elected Treasurer-Elect.

Governing board members with Founder Seats are:

Josh Cady, Cady Studios

Claudia Dencer, Leonard’s

Rodney Halterman, HR Imaging Partners

Courtney Lutz, Visual Image Photography

Jake Mark, Dorian Studio

Mike Strawbridge, Strawbridge Studios

Gregg Vander Zwaag, Geskus Photography

Chip Wagner, Wagner Portrait Group

David Crandall, executive director, SPOA.

At Large Members of the Governing Board are:

Doyce Crandall, Focused School Photography

Robert Ste-Marie, Green Apple Studios

Steve Miller, Irvin Simon Photographers

SPOA Executive Board

Members of the Executive Board do the practical work of implementing SPOA’s mission, often as the head of committees related to their chairs. The board’s seats have two-year terms, with a two-term maximum per person, unless elected by their peers to become an officer.

Bill Freeman

Advancing to president from vice president is Bill Freeman of Freeman Photography.

Mark Hommerding of, advances to vice president.

Chris Garcia of GSP Studio was elected vice-president elect.

Executive board members and their roles are:

Secretary of the Board:

Dave McMeekin, Images Inc.

Advocacy Chair:

Rob Locke, Upstate Images

Business Partners Chair:

Rebecca Jensen, HR Imaging Partners Inc.

Elementary Yearbooks Chair:

Matt Baltes, Studio Source Yearbooks

Event Management Chair:

Jenn Volcko, Inter-State Studio & Publishing Co.

Historian Chair:

Chastity Mata, Photo Texas Photography

Industry Technical Standards & Guidelines Chair:

David Lake, Inter-State Studio & Publishing Co.

International Chair:

Matt Scoggin, Got Photo

Membership Chair:

Lindsay Walters, Black Iron Photography

Secondary Yearbooks Chair:

Steve Kent, Pictavo

Standards Chair:

Eric Miller, Miller Foto

Student Data Privacy/SafetyChair:

Orren Welch, Barksdale School Portraits