The Imaging Alliance to “Salute and Celebrate” Photographers Who Give Back at March 25 event

The Imaging Alliance, a non-profit organization representing the bold and diverse imaging industry, announced the winners of its 2020 “Imaging Alliance Salutes Photographers Who Give Back” Awards. James Balog, Alicia Hansen, and Chris Rainier will be honored for their charitable achievements and dedication to creating change and social awareness on Wednesday, March 25, 2020, in New York City. The event takes place at Tribeca’s Town Stages 221 West Broadway, New York, NY at 6:30 pm.

Honorees include James Balog, founder of the Extreme Ice Survey (EIS) an innovative, long-term photography program integrating art and science to give a “visual voice” to the planet’s changing ecosystems; Alicia Hansen, founder and executive director of NYC SALT whose mission is to engage, to inspire, and to empower under-served youth in New York City to reach their full potential through photography, video and an understanding of the visual industry; and Chris Rainier, founder and CEO of The Cultural Sanctuaries Foundation who has dedicated his life to the documentation and preservation of endangered cultures to find a balance between cultural preservation and economic reality.

In addition, The Imaging Alliance will recognize professional photographer Michael Corrado with the Anthony M. Ruotolo Photojournalism Award. As the house photographer for the Ronald McDonald House NY Metro, Mike extends his talent and passion for giving back through photography with his moving portraits of children and families who are facing some of their most difficult times due to illness.

Award-winning NYC based photographer, Tony Gale, will serve as Master of Ceremonies. Gale has created compelling portraits for a variety of editorial, corporate and advertising clients. Tony is a Manfrotto Ambassador, a Sony Artisan of Imagery, an X-Rite Coloratti and the APA national president.

Madavor Media has signed on as the presenting sponsor of the event; other sponsors include Nikon, Sony, Digital Imaging Reporter, Sigma and  Tamron.